What is the Difference between Changing or Updating Your Company's Default Seller Rule?

Changing your company's default seller rule is setting a different seller rule as a default one for your company. Updating your company's default seller rule means editing settings of a seller rule that is set as a default one for your company.

The table below explains what exactly happens when seller rule is changed or updated and how the content assigned to the seller rule is affected in each of the cases.

Action Seller Rule Change Seller Rule Update
Description The company's default seller rule is replaced with another seller rule which is set as a default one for this company. The company's default seller rule settings are changed.
Impact on the content The videos that are uploaded to the system after the seller rule change will play according to the new seller rule. The videos that were uploaded before the change of the seller rule, will play according to the old seller rule.

The updated seller rule settings will apply to all videos the seller rule is assigned to - both previously uploaded and those that will be uploaded after the seller rule update.

Example  Let's say you have a company that owns 1000 videos and a company's default seller rule 'Seller Rule 1'. You change your company's default seller rule for 'Seller Rule 2' and upload 50 more videos to the system. This means that those previously uploaded 1000 videos will play according to the 'Seller Rule 1' settings and 50 videos that were added to the platform after the default seller rule was changed, will play according to the 'Seller Rule 2' settings.

Let's say you have a company that owns 1000 videos and a company's default seller rule 'Seller Rule 1'. You edit 'Seller Rule 1' settings and upload 50 more videos to the system. In this case, your 'Seller Rule 1' settings will apply to both 1000 previously uploaded videos and those 50 videos that were uploaded after you updated 'Seller Rule 1'. 

 

 

Related Articles

Have more questions? Submit a request